How Whole 30 is Affecting our Budget.

heartberries.jpg

One of my February goals was to do Whole 30.  Currently, I am on day 18 and actually (very surprisingly) loving it! I am starting to see some changes in my energy, skin, joint pain and how my pants fit. All great things!

I was hesitant when I started because I was worried that by eliminating grains, dairy, sugar, legumes, alcohol, etc. from my diet, I would have to spend lots of money on specialty ingredients (like almond flour and health-food section items) and that I would have to make two sets of meals- one that is compliant for me and another for the rest of my family that they will actually eat.

I could not have been more wrong about this and I am so excited to admit it! What is great about Whole 30 is that once you get used to grocery shopping and meal planning, there is actually a lot of things you can eat that are ‘normal’ ingredients.. it just takes a little playing around and label reading to understand what you can do within the parameters of the program.
Some staples in my shopping and meals have been eggs, avocados, salmon, fresh veggies, butcher shop meats and balsamic vinegar.  I am someone who doesn’t mind eating the same thing for a few days so I have embraced repeat recipes to use up all my ingredients.  We have had very little food waste, very tasty dinners and my husband has even remarked how easy it has been to accommodate this lifestyle change.

I have noticed that since I am sticking to the plan of Whole 30, I am not eating any ‘treats’ or takeout food while I am in town.  Since I live in a rural area it takes a bit of effort to get into my car and grab something to eat so that wasn’t really a concern before, but I was certainly working Quesada and Starbucks into my errands and treating myself with sweets in my grocery cart. I have found that our grocery bill (while still a lot higher than I would like, is reflecting the veto-ing of these treats).  I have also noticed that a lot of my personal spending money goes into Starbucks lattes and lunches out while running errands. When I am not spending money on food…I am actually spending personal money on very little else! I am excited to see the exact numbers but know that my bank account will actually be in a better place at the end of February.

I have been pleasantly surprised by the results of this Whole 30. I was skeptical at first for a bunch of reasons.  This added bonus of saving money is a fantastic incentive to keep going!

Have you done a Whole 30 before? I would love to hear any tips you have for me!

Leave a Reply

