Leading Ladies- Interview #2

It’s that time again! Another post about another awesome lady who kicks butt at her creative pursuit.  Check out my first interview here if you missed it!

I would like you all to meet Jen.  I have known Jen since we were both very young.  We did figure skating together through our childhood and went to high school together.  I took English classes with Jen late in high school and I could tell then something great was going to come out of her knack for writing.

IMG_7702.jpg

“With several years experience working in the fashion industry, Jen made the choice to switch gears and work from home as a freelance digital content writer. Working for clients across Canada and internationally, Jen regularly writes blogs, website content, press releases, white papers, and more for a variety of clients in a variety of industries.”

Q. How would you best describe what you do?

A. I’m a freelance digital content writer, so I write blogs, web pages, press releases and more for a variety of clients. I also work as a community manager for some businesses, managing their Facebook and Twitter channels.

Q. Describe the path that led you to your current work.

A. I had a great job as a booking agent for a modeling agency. Since I was a kid my goal was to work in fashion, but once I achieved my goal I found that it wasn’t really making me happy. I loved the company, the models, my coworkers, my boss, but I wasn’t feeling fulfilled. I knew I had to do something for me. So I took the jump and decided to do something that related to my journalism diploma, and decided to write. I kind of fell into freelancing.

Q. On average, how much time would you say that you work each week?

A. It really depends on the month, things kind of ebb and flow, but in the past year I’ve been able to turn freelancing into a full-time gig. I’d say I have at least 30-40 hours of work per week.

Q. What are some important skills that you have that make you well-suited to your work?

A. I’m very motivated and disciplined. Every day I give myself a small goal, say, writing 10 pages, and I don’t stop until I reach that goal. I’m also crazy organized, which is important when you have several projects on the go.

Q. What is the best part about your work?

A. I really love how my work is very laid back, I accept the amount of work that I want to do, (which is usually a lot because I like to hustle) and from there I can do what I want. For example, if I want to spend an afternoon working on a creative project, I can hustle all morning to get my real work done and then leave the afternoon for me-time.

Q. What ‘Big Things’ are on your horizon?

A. This year I recently registered as an official business, which was a big goal for me. Right now I’m feeling really content, but I think I would like to work on collaborating a little more and just expanding on the work I’m doing right now. Taking more time for things that I love is also a big goal for me because right now I’m pretty focused on work for other people.

Q. In what ways does your work challenge you?

A. I love that my job challenges me to be creative and learn things really quickly. For example, I may get an order in for a series of blogs about a topic I’ve never heard of before, so it’s my job to research like crazy and become an expert on this topic in a short period of time. That part is challenging, but it’s usually the most fun!

Q. What inspires you to keep going on the hard days?

A. Sometimes you feel a little stir-crazy working from home and not really having a lot of contact with the outside world. On days where I feel bored or lonely, I just think about how lucky I am to make my own hours and do my own thing. If I want to work in coffee shop for the day, I can. If I want to work in the evening and spend the day outside biking or paddleboarding, I can. The flexibility is amazing and I just remember how lucky I am to have it.

Q. What aspect of your work takes the most time?

A. The work in itself is pretty time-consuming. Making sure the content sounds good, that it’s correct, edited properly, and formatted the way the client needs it to be. Sometimes if I’m writing about a really dry topic, it’s hard, but writer’s-block is not an option because I’m usually working on pretty tight deadlines.

Thanks so much, Jen! It sounds like you have really found a life that you love and you work hard to do the best work you can and to make time for personal ventures and fun! Check out Jen’s business website here

 

 

One thought on “Leading Ladies- Interview #2

  1. Pingback: Leading Ladies- Interview #3 | This Busy Life Blog

Leave a Reply

