Kids’ Books We Love.

I have always loved kids’ books.  As a teacher and as a reader, it has always been really important to me that my kids have a wide variety of books to choose from.  On every birthday and Christmas Wishlist is a few books and I am always on the hunt for the best.  Kids’ books can be either vague, silly and useless or amazing stories and works of art. Before I became a mom, I dreamed of snuggling up in bed beside my kids and reading to them- doing all the voices, talking about the pictures, predicting what will come next.. and now that I am a mom it is amazing to see my toddler interact with the book and get excited when it’s time to read.

img_2832

There are so many books out there that are amazing for kids and have lots to teach them.   Here is a round up of favourites in our house:

fullsizerender

The Paper Bag Princess by Robert Munsch- This is a classic Robert Munsch story and was my favourite growing up (main character is Elizabeth, of course!). I like this story because it shows a strong girl main character who can get stuff done on her own.

Olivia by Ian Falconer- Another story about a strong girl, Olivia is a pig who tires her parents out.  She knows what she wants and is a bit stubborn when it comes down to it. (Sounds like my toddler…)

The Beginner’s Bible by Zonderkids- I looked pretty hard for a kids’ bible that had good length stories (and all of them..not just the popular ones) but that was still in kid-friendly language.  This one was a Christmas gift from AB’s aunt and it is just perfect for this stage and will grow with her for years to come.

The Gruffalo by Julia Donaldson- I love this story of wits and survival. It also rolls of the tongue nicely and you can almost sing it after a coupe reads.

The Tooth Book by Dr. Seuss– This was a gift from my sister (a Dental Hygienist) to AB for her first Christmas. It is tiny and sturdy and has survived many, many readings.  Cute story about taking care of your teeth!

The Little Girl Who Lost Her Name- This book was custom made for AB and I plan to do the same for baby brother at Christmas.  It tells a story of a girl/boy who wakes up one morning and can’t remember their name so must go on a quest and get all the letters back from various alphabet-appropriate characters and then in the end it spells your child’s name. A great gift for any kid! It is fun to have something just for them.  Check out the website here. 

Colours/ABC Alphaprints-  These books are really beautiful and are appealing to any of the senses.  The animals are made out of everyday things like bananas, basketballs and garden hoses all incorporating a textured finger print.  Great for little ones learning colours and letters with all of their senses!

Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak- Another classic story from my childhood.  The pictures in this book are beautiful and the story is cute.  Monsters are always fun!

Rosie Revere, Engineer by Andrea Beaty- I cannot recommend this book highly enough.  It is a story about perseverance. It is a story about failure.  It is a story about determination.  It shows that girls (and anyone , for that matter) can do anything they try to, but it might not come easy.  Such a great message!

Babylit Books- These Babylit ‘primers’ are beautiful ‘snapshots’ of classic novels and stories that focus on a particular skill for telling the story.  For example, opposites, colours, counting, or emotions.  Some favourites of ours are The Secret Garden, Pride and Prejudice and Romeo and Juliet.. I think we have 12 of these!!

Barnyard Dance by Sandra Boynton- Being square dancers and general country folk, we got this book well before the birth of our first baby and practiced the catchy square dance-inspired story so we would have it perfect. It is a fun book with cute pictures and lots of colour! Another one you will find yourself breezing through in song after a few reads!

Wherever You Are My Love Will Find You by Nancy Tillman- This is a beautiful story that has almost made me cry a time or two.  Reading this story to my kids is both silly and serious because the analogies use animals and ridiculous situations but the sentiment is real.  A really lovely book!

 

What am I missing from this list? Do you have a book that I need to know about?

 

One thought on “Kids’ Books We Love.

Leave a Reply

