6 months in books.

So I like to read. I pretty much am the world’s slowest reader but I read for a few minutes each night and find that it seems to be enough to keep me up to date with the latest bestsellers and noteworthy books.

I decided this year that I would vaguely follow this list I found on Pinterest in January that was compiled by POPSugar.

reading challenge

I adapted this list a bit myself, eliminating the ones I was not interested in and adding others that I was. So far this year I have read 8 books. Here is a quick review for each.

January:

The Girl on the Train- Paula Hawkins: I actually wizzed through this book as if I was a fast reader.   Before reading this book I had read a lot of non-fiction in a row so I was really happy to be taken away by a good plot line.  Though this isn’t the type of book (ie. thriller) that I usually read, and had some parts that sort of bothered me (and was about a murder – spoiler alert!) I actually really enjoyed it!

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone- JK Rowling: I read this book back in elementary school and since I teach grade 7/8, the kids were discovering and loving Harry Potter for the first time, I thought I would go back and read it again.  Not a lot of need for a review..everyone knows about HP and his wizarding ways. It was certainly nice to read Harry Potter through adult eyes and experience the nostalgia that came with this book from my childhood.

March:

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up- Marie Kondo: I didn’t finish any books in February because I was pushing my way through this one.  It. took. forever. and I didn’t particularly love it, but I wanted to see what all the hype was about.  The general idea of the Konmari method is fine but I found a lot of the ‘your things have feelings so thank them before setting them free’ stuff to be pretty kooky.  I am glad I read through the whole thing though.

Me Before You- Jojo Moyes: This was a book I had seen advertised in bookstores and reviewed online but finally picked it up when it was selected as the pick for our book club.  Again, it wasn’t a book I would have chosen on my own and some of the subject matter was a bit hard to chew (assisted dying) but I can appreciate the perspective.  The book is a love story that will break your heart.  Despite not wanting to, I liked it in the end and our book club had some great discussion! The movie is also now in theatres.

April:

The Bassoon King- Rainn Wilson: Funny story.. my husband got me this book for Christmas… and I got it for him as well! We are both big fans of The Office, having watched the entire show last winter/spring together.  This is Rainn’s (Dwight K. Schreut) memoir and he pretty well lays his life out for us all to read about.  He is funny and Dwight even appears to write some chapters for him!  I love reading comedian memoirs, so I really enjoyed this one!

#Girlboss- Sofia Amoroso: I loved this book! And I don’t have a business, or work in the corporate world, and my blog now has 6 posts.. I found her perspective really interesting though, being someone who is not afraid to bust their butt, being a woman and being driven to self-betterment and growth.  A lot of her ‘business’ advice can be applied to any person who works- both women and men.  I also found it interesting to see how her business grew and how quickly.  I hadn’t even heard of her or her business before reading the book.

May:

The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto- Mitch Albom: This book was given to me by the lady who leads our book club.  It is huge and I felt obligated to read it so I could get it back to her ASAP…and it was awesome! It is from the same author as Tuesday’s with Morie and The Five People you Meet in Heaven.  It was such a neat story. I would recommend this to someone who is looking for a great plot or a music lover.

June:

Where’d You Go Bernadette- Maria Semple: I kept seeing this book on various lists- NY Times Bestseller, Books by Women You Must Read, Hilarious Books, Books with Female Main Character, etc. so when I saw it online for $4.99 while shopping for my daughter I added it to my cart.  Because I already had it I suggested it to my book club and we read it as our second book.   It was quite funny at times. I really liked the character of Bernadette, however, it is actually written from the perspective of her 15? year old daughter.  Having a daughter, the bond between Bernadette and Bee is one I really enjoyed following.  Bernadette was really quite a crazy character.  I loved the book up until she actually disappeared (spoiler alert?) and then I found it got a bit far fetched and dragged on too long.. and wasn’t as ‘laugh out loud’ funny as the book lists might have suggested. Still cute though, and an easy read.

I have one more book on the go that I doubt I will finish before baby gets here next week.  I have purchased the next few books I will read that will likely take me the whole summer, but I am really looking forward to them!

I always love taking book suggestions. Is there something I must read that you want to suggest?!

 

One thought on “6 months in books.

  1. Pingback: 6 months in books- part 2. | This Busy Life

Leave a Reply

