Change.

 

Adventures

Free printable of this awesome quote can be found here.

Change. Love it or hate it, change has to happen. It is always happening.  It can be embraced or hated, and usually always pushes you out of your comfort zone.  They say that the only way to change is to do something differently than you have always done them- it is ridiculous to expect change to just happen.

Well change is a-comin.  In just 2 weeks from today our family will welcome a new member.  We will change from a family of 3 to a family of 4.  We will most definitely change sleep patterns and routines.  We are having a boy..which is a change from everything we learned about having a little girl 2 and a half years ago.  “Normal” for us is going to change.

One fun thing about me (sense the sarcasm) is that I like to be in control.  I am a planner. I am an organizer. I am a routine gal through and through.  I like fun and spontaneity and doing things out of the ordinary..and then I like getting back to safe and ‘normal’.  I can already sense how I am about to be rocked to my very core.

When we had our daughter everything was new. I had just endured 32 hours of labour followed by a C-section. My husband and I had become parents for the first time and were learning how to keep another person alive.  We were in a haze and honestly, I remember very little.  I feel like this time around I know how I am going to do things differently. I feel more prepared. I feel more informed. I feel experienced.  And I know this is going to hit me like a brick wall because it can’t be that easy..can it?

I feel this time around, that though there is going to be change I feel like I know what I am doing a whole lot better than the first time.  I feel like I am more patient now and also that there are many things I will not have to learn for the first time (and know there is much that I will).  I feel like I am approaching this family expansion much more realistically (or maybe that’s experience talking?) but I am ready for change.

I am so excited for this baby and am loving each and every second as a family of 3 before things are about to change.  I hope I am not stupid.. But I am ready for this new adventure..for this awesome change!

 

Leave a Reply

